Say the word

Image

 

Say the word and you’ll be free
Say the word and be like me
Say the word I’m thinking of
Have you heard the word is love?
It’s so fine, It’s sunshine
It’s the word, love 

Beatles

In the beginning was the word.  This was this morning’s scripture reading in church.  It is funny what words can do.  Our pastor talked about the word coming from the news about the big snowstorm heading our way.  He discussed how the stores were packed with people storing up for the storm.  Today it came, but it was too warm.  Now I look out the window at the rain pouring down.  Don’t think we are going to get the 10 inches of snow; So far all it has down is melt the snow that is on the ground from last week’s snowfall. 

Sometimes we hold on to words that we really shouldn’t.  Sometimes on Facebook I get accused of being too liberal, and too conservative.  I have been called self righteous, a hater, ignorant and many other things.  None of these from people who really know me, yet sometimes I hang on to these things.  In part this was because some actually come from family, but again they don’t know me.  I haven’t lived near them in twenty years and people change during that time. 

Last Sunday one person at our church said he really appreciated the positive posts my wife and I put on Facebook, since he knew all the troubles we had been going through.  I think of the people that work with me that tell me how smart I am, or how they can talk to me.  I’ve been told how well I listen, that I have an open mind and how nonjudgmental and caring I am.  These are people that see me all the time; they know me because I have worked with them for many years.  Some up to ten years, some only two.  Still they know me better than people who once knew me well but I only see every couple of years. 

So why is it that we often want to hang on to negative words about us?  I remember hurtful words spoken to me when I was a child, but I can’t remember good words spoken to me except of how good of a ball player I was. 

I have heard it said that it takes 3-7 positive words to overcome one negative word said about or to us.  That is powerful.  Why does one simple word drag us down, but it takes so many positive words to lift us up?  I wish it was the other way.  What I really wish though is that we stop using so many negative words. Most of the time I have been called names or hurtful things is when I have a different opinion about a subject.  Why do people always have to be so right?  I’m pretty sure I don’t know it all and I try to see what the other person is trying to say. Whether I think it is right or not does not matter.  They have an opinion because of how they grew up and the circumstances in their lives. 

I’m not perfect in this area.  Sometimes I get fed up with people and tell them what I think, which normally isn’t too nice.  I should learn to walk away because nothing is accomplished when people get mad.  Those names we call each other last a long time.  Instead let us try to thank each other for their opinions and move on.  We are all God’s children and we shouldn’t be calling names over silly insignificant things that won’t matter in two weeks.  It’s OK to be discussing issues not debating them.  When we discuss we all win.  We don’t always have to be right; we just have to treat each other with respect.  We don’t know what kind of life that other person has had to make others angry, defensive or bitter, but a kind word brings us all closer to healing.

So today let’s make a real resolution to try to show each other that kindness we all deserve.  Listen to one another, don’t fight.  Use kind words.

Leave a Reply

