To All My Moms, Thanks!

Image

 

“Being a full-time mother is one of the highest salaried jobs… since the payment is pure love.”

~ Mildred B. Vermont

 

I have had many mothers in my life. My birth mother of course, but as I grew and moved and married, other mothers had a hand in my life as well.

Mother Patrick was the first of the other mothers. She was my pastor’s wife and she took me under her wing and helped me grow spiritually as well as mentally when I was just a teenager.   I spent so many nights at the Patrick’s house because their son was my age. We were like family. She always believed in me and encouraged me. She told me how proud she was of me. Since we don’t live in the same state, we don’t see each other much anymore but she is always with me.

Mother Hand was another mom who took me under her wing. Only in a different way. Her son and I roomed in college. During some of college they lived nearby so we spent time there and after graduation, I couldn’t always make it home for the holidays, but I always had the Hand home to go to. Even when their son wasn’t there, I was. That love still lives with me.

Mother Van Cise is another mom in my life. She also has kids my age and when I moved to the area, 600 miles from home and an hour away from anyone else I knew, she and her husband showed me the kindness that goes beyond measure. Always encouraging, and sweet, she was the epitome of love.

I came across this quote as I was writing this blog: “An ounce of mother is worth a pound of clergy.” ~ Spanish Proverb. I thought this was quite ironic since all the women above are pastor’s wives.   But, I think the quote is so true. Theology doesn’t teach you how to behave, but mothers do.   How many sermons do you remember? But I bet you remember the love a mother gives you.

Then I got married and found another mother. My mother-in-law. You know those evil mother-in-law stories and jokes? They don’t apply here. My mother-in-law has been great to us and has always treated me as a son. She has lived with us for about 10 years and we have barely had any problems. She is always been there through whatever good or bad we have gone through in the past. I can truthfully say I have the best mother-in-law in the world!

I have to save the best for last, my birth mom. Obviously I wouldn’t be who I am without her. She is where I get my love for kids from and my kid nature. I’m just a big kid and often would rather play games with kids than do things with adults, except they wear me out. I remember mom coming to my concerts and ball games. I would always look for her and dad, never happy until I saw her smiling face. I remember once I had a trio and I did not tell mom. When the concert was over and she asked why, I lied and told her that I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it or not. Really I did not want any pressure on me because I did not want to disappoint her. I thought that if she knew she’d be all excited and if I’d mess up she’d be disappointed. That was just stupid middle school thinking. She would never be really disappointed in me. She loves me unconditionally.  I know that even if I am not the perfect son that her love for me will never go away. Her love stays with me each moment of my life.

“Being a mother is an attitude, not a biological relation.” ~ Robert A. Heinlein

In my life it has been both.  Happy Mothers day to all of you!

Leave a Reply

